Hobbit feet

This post has ulterior motives, which I am going to uncover so that they are not actually ulterior and rather… exterior? I am using this post to share about my life and a product I think is wonderful, and I am also trying to persuade Rose, a CouchSurfer extraordinaire in Amsterdam, to host my sister and me on our backpacking trip through Europe.

She wrote on her profile that to make a hosting request more enticing, one should put “Hobbit” in the subject line. (Now this is the kind of person who would make a good host.) I got my new Vibram “barefoot shoes” yesterday, and they remind me of Hobbit feet, if for no other reason than they’re quirky, so I told her as much. My P365 photo was of my new shoes yesterday, so I had wanted to post them anyway, so yay, a post that kills two birds with one stone (or some other nonviolent metaphor) – post about my new awesome shoes and try to convince a cool lady to host Caroline and me in Amsterdam!

Vibram Five Fingers - aren't they cool? (You also get to see my beloved, tattered PJ pants ;)

Vibram Five Fingers - aren't they cool? (You also get to see my beloved, tattered PJ pants 😉

More about the shoes – I saw somebody at Kripalu (the yoga center I was at most of this past year) wearing these in the fall and fell in love. I’ve wanted these shoes ever since. So after about nine months of wanting them, I finally bought them for myself (after too much researching figuring out what kind and convincing myself that they rock) as a reward for sticking with my running plan for a couple of months.

I’ve worn them around today and love them!! I’m used to being barefoot all the time inside (around the house and at yoga) anyway, so being as close to barefoot as possible outside as well is awesome.

P.S. I’ve categorized this as “Mindful Living” because of my conscious consumerism choice.

Leave a Reply

